Kelsey Awards Spotlight: Dominick Sannelli

Once a year, The Kelsey Awards celebrate all things Kelsey Theatre. Honoring excellent singing, astounding performances, beautiful set design, and powerful story lines, The Kelsey Awards highlight the magic of live theater.

So send your regards to Kelsey Theatre by learning all about the incredible talent that are nominated for The 2017 Kelsey Awards before the live ceremony on Saturday, August 19th at 7:00pm.

Today, we get to learn more about Dominick Sannelli.


EXTRA EXTRA – The 2017 Kelsey Awards – Complete List of Nominees


DominickSannelli

Dominick is no stranger to The Kelsey Awards. Not only is Dominick a multi-winning Kelsey Award performer, he also hosted the event back in 2012!

This year, Dominick returns to the Kelsey Theatre stage as a nominee for Outstanding Choreographer for his incredible work in Playful Theatre Production’s “Big Fish”.

How do you like working at The Kelsey Theatre?

DOMINICK: I grew up here! This is where I really got to come into my own as an artist. I will always be grateful for my time here at Kelsey. It was a joy to get to come back after so many years away!

What is your favorite Kelsey Theatre memory?

DOMINICK: My favorite Kelsey memory was when I hosted the Kelsey Awards the same year I was nominated like 5 times… and didn’t win one award! But what a great time that was! Also, “A Chorus Line” and “Pippin” and “Brighton Beach Memoirs” were my favorite shows that I’ve done!

What is your most embarrassing moment on or off stage that’s theater-related?

DOMINICK: Well, this actually might give Dan Maurer and Kitty PTSD. So I was playing Eugene in Maurer Productions “Brighton Beach Memoirs”, I think I was like 12 or 13. It is ALOT of dialogue.. I mean ALOT! Many sections that I have sort of start off the same way, in my room talking to the audience about what had just happened or family history. It was the second Friday, and the show was so well rehearsed that we never really had snaffoos. The show running like normal, and I start this monologue like normal, totally casual. I go about my blocking and kind of notice that light cue was kind of catching up to me and wasn’t totally normal. Who knows, then it happens again once I come down from the stair case and I notice the horror from my cast. I’m like is my fly down, or what?! I’m still chugging along and I see Dan Maurer feverishly flipping thru the script from the booth kind of stressed. “That’s odd” the woman playing my mother now looks like a ghost and is staring at me, and kind of trying to tell me something. GUYS… my stomach sank and finally realized I have skipped like 10 pages of script. 10 pages. I then kind of blacked out and with my amazing cast, we fixed it somehow, filled in the gaps, and I kind of had to fill in some missing info in monologues to come. LIVE THEATER IS WILD!

If there’s one person at The Kelsey Theatre you’ve been wanting to work with, but never had the opportunity, who is it and why?

DOMINICK: Lou Stalsworth! I’ve wanted to do another straight play for forever, and I think getting to work with him on that level would be really great. His concepts and designs are always some of the best quality of the season, which I think really excites me

What is your dream show that you’d like to work on?

DOMINICK: I’d love to bring “American Idiot” to Kelsey. There’s some real talent in that age group and I think doing a fresh show like that, especially in today’s political climate, would excite not only the cast, but would bring in some new faces to the audience. “9 to 5” should come. Who doesn’t like Dolly Parton? “Andrew Lippa’s Wild Party” should come. “Sweeney” should be done again.

Are you excited for The Kelsey Awards on Saturday, August 19th?!

DOMINICK: VERY! it is always a great night with old friends!

A special message to all of the people who voted for you and made you a nominee…

DOMINICK: The Kelsey Theater community has always been such a wonderful and supportive group. I go and see shows now and sometimes I’ll get a “Hey, where have you been” or “we miss you” from random strangers. It is such a wonderful feeling knowing that from such a young age I was able to connect with so many people through my work on that stage! I am very grateful for it! Thank you Thank you Thank you!! Like Eugene says…”On ward and upward!”

Be sure to buy your tickets for the live ceremony on Saturday, August 19th at 7pm and find out who will walk away with a 2017 Kelsey Award!

For tickets and to learn more about the show and nominees, visit The Kelsey Awards Official Website!

BlogArrow-Website

Leave a Reply

