Kelsey Awards Spotlight: Kyrus Keenan Westcott

Once a year, The Kelsey Awards celebrate all things Kelsey Theatre. Honoring excellent singing, astounding performances, beautiful set design, and powerful story lines, The Kelsey Awards highlight the magic of live theater.

So send your regards to Kelsey Theatre by learning all about the incredible talent that are nominated for The 2017 Kelsey Awards before the live ceremony on Saturday, August 19th at 7:00pm.

Today, we get to learn more about Kyrus Keenan Westcott!


EXTRA EXTRA – The 2017 Kelsey Awards – Complete List of Nominees


KyrusKeenanWestcott

Kyrus has been a staple in The Kelsey Theatre since 2004. He has directed the productions of “Urinetown”, “The Wiz”, and “Into The Woods”… and this year, he’s being recognized for directing The Pennington Players’ production of “In The Heights”.

How do you like working at The Kelsey Theatre?

KYRUS: I love it. I’ve been so blessed to have had the opportunity to work all over the state artistically, but The Kelsey Theatre will always be my home. This place has crafted me into the performer and director that I am today, and I am not sure that any other theater would have ever taken a chance on me. I’d be nowhere without this theater.

What is your favorite Kelsey Theatre memory?

KYRUS: Oh goodness… I have so many fantastic memories, it’s hard to choose just one. If I had to choose a more recent one, I think it’d have to be watching my cast of “In The Heights” on opening night. That nervous energy drove the show and they took it and rolled with it. That night was one of my most proud moments inside that space.

What is your most embarrassing moment on or off stage that’s theater-related?

KYRUS: I have one in particular. No need to go into detail. Most of you reading this may know it, but if you don’t, I’ll spare you. The only thing I’ll say is that I had a ball doing “Rocky Horror” at The Kelsey Theatre. Buy me a drink or two or seven and I’ll tell you all about it.

If there’s one person at The Kelsey Theatre you’ve been wanting to work with, but never had the opportunity, who is it and why?

KYRUS: I’ve worked with so many amazing people! This might be a tie between Kat Ross Kline and Samantha Sharpe. Two good friends of mine whom I’ve never had a chance to work with.

What is your dream show that you’d like to work on?

KYRUS: “Andrew Lippa’s The Wild Party” needs to happen on this stage. The people that know the show know why it needs to be on this stage. Someone make it happen!

Are you excited for The Kelsey Awards on Saturday, August 19th?!

KYRUS: As Producer of the event, it’s hard to get excited since there is so much work, time and energy that goes into it. With that said, however, the feeling I get every year right when the show starts… nothing beats it.

A special message to all of the people who voted for you and made you a nominee…

KYRUS: Thank you for your kind words. “In The Heights” was a dream come true for me and the entire production team. I am so proud of what we accomplished and I hope that the audiences liked it too! Thank you for voting for us!

Be sure to buy your tickets for the live ceremony on Saturday, August 19th at 7pm and find out who will walk away with a 2017 Kelsey Award!

For tickets and to learn more about the show and nominees, visit The Kelsey Awards Official Website!

BlogArrow-Website

Leave a Reply

