Kelsey Awards Spotlight: Pam Sharples

Once a year, The Kelsey Awards celebrate all things Kelsey Theatre. Honoring excellent singing, astounding performances, beautiful set design, and powerful story lines, The Kelsey Awards highlight the magic of live theater.

So send your regards to Kelsey Theatre by learning all about the incredible talent that are nominated for The 2017 Kelsey Awards before the live ceremony on Saturday, August 19th at 7:00pm.

Today, we get to learn more about Pam Sharples!


EXTRA EXTRA – The 2017 Kelsey Awards – Complete List of Nominees


PamSharples

Pam is one of the most popular music directors here at Kelsey Theatre, having worked on countless shows through the years. This year, Pam is nominated for her incredible music direction in “Anything Goes”!

How do you like working at The Kelsey Theatre?

PAM: Magic happens at Kelsey Theatre in both rehearsal and performance. I am honored to have worked with so many talented people and to have been a part of those experiences with them. Theatre is alive at Kelsey!

What is your favorite Kelsey Theatre memory?

PAM: My favorite moments are always the first time I watch a video recording of a show I musically directed and really see it for the first time with lights, costume, makeup, sets and props. It is thrilling to play with our pit musicians and be in the middle of all that wonderful sound but I really love seeing the show for the first time… when it’s over.

What is your most embarrassing moment on or off stage that’s theater-related?

PAM: Not so much embarrassing as scary was when I needed stitches in my right hand on the Wednesday of tech week for Follies. I went from urgent care directly to rehearsal and was fortunate I could play the show well.

If there’s one person at The Kelsey Theatre you’ve been wanting to work with, but never had the opportunity, who is it and why?

PAM: I’m going to let fate work it’s magic and put me where I need to be. I’m the lucky one to have worked with so many of you!

What is your dream show that you’d like to work on?

PAM: I have had the pleasure of being asked to work on so many fantastic shows and hope that they keep coming my way. I would like to work on a show with a very small cast. Something that would require more intimate exploration in rehearsals to get very deep into the characters and their singing. I have one in mind.

Are you excited for The Kelsey Awards on Saturday, August 19th?!

PAM: Yes, I am especially thrilled that Anything Goes! is one of the many shows recognized this season. Good luck to all that are nominated!

A special message to all of the people who voted for you and made you a nominee…

PAM: I treasure the artistry that happens when working with each and every one of my cast members. Thank you for voting for me, for putting your confidence in me as we work together and for sharing the joy that comes from all of our successes in community theater.

Be sure to buy your tickets for the live ceremony on Saturday, August 19th at 7pm and find out who will walk away with a 2017 Kelsey Award!

For tickets and to learn more about the show and nominees, visit The Kelsey Awards Official Website!

BlogArrow-Website

Leave a Reply

